Breast Buddies Natural Parenting And Breastfeeding Support Forum. Attachment Parenting
Welcome to Breast Buddies. Friendly breastfeeding forum to help mothers and mothers to be.
Login or sign up today!

Breastfeeding tip : Recognising a growth spurt

* You feel as though you haven't got enough
* Baby getting upset at the breast (though can be a sign of other common problems)
* Baby is breastfeeding often or almost nonstop (feel like baby is always wanting to feed)
* A baby who was previously sleeping through the night is now waking to breast feed several times
* Baby will latch and unlatch, fussing in between

Please join today for support and advice.

To get rid of the ads please join free today! Smile

Introducing myself

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Announcement Introducing myself

Post by makaio09 on Sat May 16, 2009 8:41 am

Hello everyone.
I'm a nervous newbie. My name is Alicia and I have 3 wonderful children all under the age of 5. I've had a rocky time in the world of breastfeeding since my first child was born in 2005. I was determined all the way through my first pregnancy that I was going to breastfeed my daughter, sadly when she was born, she was only 4lb13oz at full term. So the midwife whipped her straight off me, I had no opportunity to let her latch her self on to my breast. I told them I wanted to breastfeed and they said "well we will have to see, she is a little underweight and has no fat stores!" then she upset me more by saying which formula do you want her to have while she is in speacial care! At that point I gave up on the idea that i'd breastfeed and asumed the midwife knew best....I now know she didn't. In 2006 when my first son was born he was a good weight and took to the breast straight away, but I had problems with positioning and every time he latched on it was toe curlingly painful! after 3 weeks of pain, no support and the baby blues I gave up but always felt guilty, espeacially when I came out of feeling so down. I